(Pictured above: CMC BC Director Sean Bickerton with recent winners of LCMS Young Composers Competition)

Langley Community Music School (LCMS) held their third annual Young Composers Competition last month. The competition is offered to music students working at the Junior, Senior, and Post-Secondary levels.

BC Director Sean Bickerton presenting Barbara Pentland Award of Excellence to Isaac Zee

Selected contestants took part in a workshop with the Rose Gellert String Quartet, LCMS’ Quartet in Residence, on Saturday, March 20, 2019 from 12-3pm. The winning works were then performed by the quartet on March 24 in Rose Gellert Hall. The Jury, featuring composers Rodney Sharman, Jennifer Butler, and Leslie Janos, selected three winners:

Junior Category: Matthieu Foresi, Intermezzo
Senior Category: Gavin Topnik, Darkness
Post-Secondary Category: Isaac Zee, Conversations

CMC BC Director presenting Barbara Pentland Award of Excellence to Gavin Topnik

BC Director Sean Bickerton presented Barbara Pentland Awards of Excellence to the Senior and Post-Secondary winners of the competition at the beginning of CMC BC’s Annual Meeting held in the Murray Adaskin Salon on Monday, April 17, 2019, along with a  scholarship in the amount of $50 for Gavin Topnik, their Senior Category winner, and a $100 scholarship for Isaac Zee, the Post-Secondary winner.

The Canadian Music Centre is proud to partner with Langley Community Music School to present winners of their Young Composers Competition with Barbara Pentland Awards of Excellence for Outstanding Composition.

Congratulations Isaac, Gavin, and Matthieu, and to the Langley Community Music School!